Standards in SupportAbility

There are several in-built Standards available in SupportAbility, including: 

  • Each of the NDIS Practice Standards,
  • the National Standards for Disability Services, and the
  • DMI Codes (Disability Maintenance Instrument), specific to providers of Supported employment. 

This article discusses each of these Standards in detail and also includes information regarding Managing Standards at the end.

Audience: Authorised Representatives, Operations Management. 


The following list summarises the content within this article. Click on the links below to take you to the relevant sections:

NDIS Practice Standards 

'The NDIS Practice Standards create an important benchmark for providers to assess their performance, and to demonstrate how they provide high quality and safe supports and services to NDIS participants' - Disability Services Commission.

For more detail about the NDIS Practice Standards, please see the Disability Services Commission website as linked above, or the NDIS Practice Standards - July 2018. Noting that only registered providers in NSW and SA are currently operating under the Quality, Safeguarding Framework, until the national roll-out in July 2019, with the exception of WA, who will join the national framework in July 2020. 

The NDIS Practice Standards consist of a core module and seven specialist modules that apply according to the types of supports and services NDIS providers deliver, and the corporate structure of the organisation.

Each module is comprised of multiple sections or 'outcomes'. Each outcome may be achieved by demonstrating multiple quality indicators. The exception to this rule is for core, whereby the outcomes are relative to each sub-section of the module e.g. Person - centred supports. These sub-sections are summarised below. 

Each of the modules included in the NDIS Practice Standards are available in SupportAbility as a Standard, and are prefaced with 'QSF' which stands for the NDIS Quality and Safeguarding Framework, as these Standards are an integral part of this Framework.

More information about each outcome section & sub-section where applicable and its subsequent quality indicators has been outlined below. 

Return to Summary

QSF: Core
    • 1. Rights and Responsibilities
      • 1.1 Person - centred supports
      • 1.2 Individual values and beliefs
      • 1.3 Privacy and Dignity
      • 1.4 Independence and informed choice
      • 1.5 Violence, Abuse, Neglect, Exploitation and Discrimination
    • 2. Provider Governance and Operational Management
      • 2.1 Governance and Operational Management
      • 2.2 Risk Management
      • 2.3 Quality Management
      • 2.4 Information Management
      • 2.5 Feedback and Complaints Management
      • 2.6 Incident Management
      • 2.7 Human Resource Management
      • 2.8 Continuity of Supports
    • 3. Provision of Supports
      • 3.1 Access to supports
      • 3.2 Support Planning
      • 3.3 Service Agreements with Participants
      • 3.4 Responsive Support Provision
      • 3.5 Transitions to or from the provider
    • 4. Provision of Supports (Environment)
      • 4.1 Safe environment
      • 4.2 Participant Money and Property
      • 4.3 Management of Medication
      • 4.4 Management of Waste

Return to Summary

QSF: Early Childhood Supports
  • 1. The Child
  • 2. The Family
  • 3. Inclusion
  • 4. Collaboration
  • 5. Capacity Building
  • 6. Evidence - Informed Practice
  • 7. Outcome based approach

QSF: High Intensity Daily Personal Activities
  • 1. Complex Bowel Care
  • 2. Enteral (Naso-Gastric Tube - Jejunum or Duodenum) Feeding and Management
  • 3. Tracheostomy Management
  • 4. Urinary Catheter Management (In-dwelling Urinary Catheter, In-out Catheter, Suprapubic Catheter)
  • 5. Ventilator Management 
  • 6. Subcutaneous Injections 
  • 7. Complex Wound Management 

QSF: Implementing Behaviour Support Plans
  • 1. Behaviour Support in the NDIS
  • 2. Regulated Restrictive Practices
  • 3. Supporting the Assessment and Development of Behaviour Support Plan
  • 4. Behaviour Support Plan Implementation
  • 5. Monitoring and Reporting the Use of Regulated Restrictive Practices
  • 6. Behaviour Support Plan Review
  • 7. Reportable Incidents involving the Use of a Restrictive Practice
  • 8. Interim Behaviour Support Plans

QSF: Specialist Behaviour Support
  • 1. Behaviour Support in the NDIS
  • 2. Restrictive Practices 
  • 3. Functional Behaviour Assessments and Behaviour Support Plans
  • 4. Supporting the Implementation of the Behaviour Support Plan
  • 5. Behaviour Support Plan Monitoring and Review
  • 6. Reportable Incidents involving the Use of a Restrictive Practice
  • 7. Interim Behaviour Support Plans

QSF: Specialist Disability Accommodation
  • 1. Rights and Responsibilities
  • 2. Conflict of Interest
  • 3. Service Agreements with Participants
  • 4. Enrolment of SDA Properties
  • 5. Tenancy Management

QSF: Specialist Support Co-ordination
  • 1. Specialised Support Co-ordination
  • 2. Management of a Participant’s NDIS Supports
  • 3. Conflict of interest

QSF: Verification
  • 1. Human Resource Management
  • 2. Incident Management
  • 3. Complaints Management
  • 4. Risk Management

Return to Summary

National Standards for Disability Sevices

At the 18 December 2013 meeting of the Standing Council on Disability Reform ministers from all jurisdictions endorsed the revised National Standards for Disability Services (NSDS).

These standards have a greater focus on person-centred approaches and promote choice and control by people with disability. These are considered critical under the National Disability Insurance Scheme.

The Australian Government adopted the standards for its employment and advocacy services for people with disability from 1 January 2014 for employment service providers, and from 1 July 2014 for advocacy agencies funded under the National Disability Advocacy Program.

The National Standards underwent extensive consultation, validation and user testing, culminating in a set of six standards that are able to be applied across a broad range of circumstances. They are: 

  • 1. Rights
  • 2. Participation and Inclusion
  • 3. Individual Outcomes
  • 4. Feedback and Complaints
  • 5. Service Access
  • 6. Service Management

- Department of Social Services

The NDIS Quality and Safeguards Commission has advised that 'The new arrangements will progressively replace existing quality and safeguards requirements in all states and territories.' 

DMI Codes

The Disability Maintenance Instrument (DMI) assesses the work-related support needs of a Supported Employee, which you are required to provide or purchase, and matches this with an appropriate level of funding. The DMI process ensures that funding is distributed on an equitable basis to ADEs - Department of Social Services.

The DMI is comprised of nine domains, with each domain including multiple assessment checkpoints: 

  • 1. Social and Behavioural
  • 2. Cognitive
  • 3. Vocational
  • 4. Physical
  • 5. Communication
  • 6. Work Environment Assistance
  • 7. Special Assistance
  • 8. Other Assistance
  • 9. Variable Assistance

Managing Standards

If any the in-built DMI Codes Standard is not applicable to your organisation, this can be made Inactive by Staff with the System Preferences privilege. 

If a Standard is made inactive, it will leave in place any previously added Standards, however, the Standard will no longer be Active and available to add. 

Return to Summary

How does our organisation make a Standard inactive?

To do so, navigate to System Preferences and select the Standards tab: 

Select the relevant Standard that you wish to make Inactive e.g. DMI Codes

Deselect the Active checkbox:

Once deselected, remember to select 'Save Standard':

This Standard will no longer be available for addition. 

Return to Summary

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us