Replicating changes to an Activity Set
This article provides detailed information relating to the configuration and functionality of replicating changes to an Activity Set. Once a replicated set of Activities has been created, the 'Replication Management Settings' reflect how this set of Activities should be updated.
Privileges: In order to replicate changes to an Activity set the privileges required to manage Activities is required. Please see the article of this name linked below for reference.
Audience: Team Leaders, and anyone with the privileges required to manage Activities
The following list summarises the content within this article. Click on the links below to take you to the relevant sections:
- Replication Management Settings
- Exclude This Activity
Replication Management Settings
Once a set of Activities has been created, it is important to consider how the Replication Management Settings are configured as this will determine how the set of Activities is updated.
When the Replication For Set settings are active:
It means that any changes made to the activity Settings, Clients or Staff, are replicated to the future Activities in the set.
If these settings are on and changes to the Activity are made then the Activity is Signed Off, this acts as saving the record and these changes will be applied to the remaining Activities in the set; even though this may not have been intended.
For this reason, we recommend that all replication settings are turned off:
Turning these settings off means that each individual Activity is treated as its own instance and will not accidentally be overwritten with updates that are not intended.
Staff who manage Activities i.e. create, edit and perform the Activity Sign Off, require an understanding of how these settings work and that the Replication Management Settings should only be activated when they intend to replicate a change through to the remaining Activities in the set.
For example, if you would like the changes made to the Clients section of the Activity replicated through to the remaining future-dated Activities in the set, the Clients Replication Management Setting would be selected, before saving the Activity record:
Once the Activity record is saved, all changes made to the Clients section of the Activity will be replicated through to the remaining future-dated Activities in the set.
Once saved, we recommend turning this off for the reasons mentioned above.
Are there any areas that will not be updated when Replication For Set is active?
Yes. Additional rules have been applied when rolling out changes to Activities within a replicated set, to ensure data quality and accuracy.
- Amendments to an Activity date and/or time cannot be made to a single Activity, or applied to Activities within a replicated set when the Activity has either:
- One or more Clients with a Support Log recorded (as Support Logs reference the Activity date and time).
- One or more completed Staff Time Sheets for shifts that are not customised (as non-customised shifts reference the Activity date and time).
- Additionally, the date and/or time of any customised Staff shifts cannot be changed when the Activity date and/or time cannot be updated.
- Further to this, where the related Replication For Set setting is on:
- Any changes to the NDIS Support Allocations for a Client, will not be applied to any future Activities in the set with existing Client Support Logs.
- Changes to Staff details will not be applied where Staff Timesheets have been completed.
- When Replication Management Settings are on in an Activity, updates to future Activities in the set are no longer applied when:
- An Activity Sign Off is removed
- A Client Support Log is removed, or
- When a Signed Off Activity is saved
- The Notes fields in an Activity record are no longer editable once the Activity Sign Off has been performed so that changes can no longer be made once the Activity is complete.
Exclude This Activity
When replication settings are enabled and there is an Activity in the set that we need to protect from any replication changes e.g. the Staff settings are required to be different from all other Activities within this set; we must first isolate the Staff settings of that unique Activity.
When 'Exclude This Activity' is selected, an Activity is isolated from the set. This setting has the following effects:
- Changes made to that particular Activity are not replicated to future Activities in the set (regardless of the Activity Replication Management Settings)
- Changes made to Activities that fall before this Activity, will not apply to this Activity.
The only exception to this is any Program of Support settings, as these settings disregard the 'Exclude this Activity' setting due to the nature of this, and will be replicated based on how the Replication For Set - Clients setting is configured. For more information regarding Programs of Support, please view the article of this name linked below for reference.
To isolate an Activity and exclude it from replication, select the Exclude This Activity setting as shown below:
In this example, any Staffing changes we make to this Activity will only apply to this Activity and not the set.
For example, our Staff member Abel will be on leave on the 6th of October. We have therefore set the replication settings to Exclude This Activity for the Staff section of the Activity on this date (as above) and replaced him with Brooks for this shift. As Exclude This Activity was set, this has only updated the Staff for this particular activity on the 6th of October and not the full set:
Similarly, if someone was to update the Staff shifts in an Activity the preceded this in the set, these changes would not be applied to this Activity.
Selecting Exclude This Activity is important when the replication for settings are enabled. If this had not been set and a change was made to an earlier Activity in the set, the staffing changes would be overridden with the original Staff member again.