Replicating Activities

This article provides detailed information relating to the configuration and functionality of Replicating Activities.

Once an Activity has been created, the option to replicate the Activity is available. For example, if you host a particular Activity every Thursday, then this can be replicated for the required time frame. Replicating an Activity creates a 'set' of Activities. 

Once a replicated set of Activities has been created, the Replication Management Settings reflect how this set of Activities should be updated and therefore may need to be reviewed. 


Summary

The following list summarises the content within this article. Click on the links below to take you to the relevant sections:


How to replicate an Activity

Located on the Activity Details tab:

You will notice on the right hand column, Replication Settings are available: 

By clicking the option 'Replicate Activity' button you will be presented with our Replicate Activity wizard:      

Repeats

Upon opening the wizard, you will need to identify how often you would like this Activity to be repeated.  For example  Daily or Weekly. 

Recurrence Limits

Activities can be replicated on a monthly basis for up to 12 months, on a weekly basis for up to 6 months and daily for up to 3 months.

Should you wish to replicate beyond these limits then you can open the last recurrence of the set you have just created and replicate a new set from there.  It is important that you check the box 'Replications are related to this activity' box to link the activities.

Repeats Every

If you would like this Activity to be repeated every Thursday, you would select Weekly, and then indicate to  Repeat Every: 1 weeks

Ends On

You also have the option of selecting the end date of this replication. To do this, click on the Calendar Icon  

Then you may choose your desired end date:

Staff Replications

Once you have chosen your End Date - you may then tell SupportAbility your Staffing Replications. Indicating if you would like to use the same staff for all of these Activities, OR if you would like to fill the staff members at a later date - perhaps when you have a better idea of who will be available to support this Activity.

Replications are related to this Activity

The final option will be to select if all of your 'Replications are related to this activity'. If replications are related to the current Activity, then they will be added to the related 'set' and therefore added to the 'Related Activities' tab. 

If replications are NOT related to the current Activity, an entirely new Activity set will be created for all the new replication Activities, separated from the current Activity.

To replicate the Activity select the Replicate Activity button.

The wizard will then display all of your replication details. By selecting 'Show Proposed Replication Dates', this will display all the Activity dates within your chosen time period.

From here you can either amend these dates or chose to replicate by selecting Replicate Activity:

Return to Summary


Related Activities

Once you have successfully replicated your Activity, you will be navigated to the Related Activities tab. All of the related 'set' of Activities are viewable here:

At present there is no facility to register public holidays in SupportAbility. Due to this, we recommend that if a Provider does not deliver Services on public holidays, when replicating Activities it is important to review the ' Related Activities' tab following their creation. If any of the Activities fall on a public holiday, then we recommend to Delete these Activities by following the instructions outlined in this article. 

If you would like to view or edit the details of one of these Activities, simply use the Target Icon

And this will open the Activity Details

Return to Summary


Replication Management Settings

You may wish to consider how the Replication Management Settings should be configured for the Activity replication set which has been created. A few points to remember:

  • All Activities replicated form part of a 'Set',
  • Should you edit the start time (settings), Staff, or Activity participants (Clients) of your Activity, and you have these settings activated, SupportAbility will then replicate the same changes for all future Activities within this set, and
  • This setting only applies to this Activity set, and can be individually tailored for each Activity set.

Return to Summary


Replication For Set

When the Replication For Set settings are active:

It means that any changes made to the activity  SettingsClients or Staff, are replicated to the future Activities in the set. 

If these settings are on and changes to the Activity are made then the Activity is Signed Off, this acts as saving the record and these changes will be applied to the remaining Activities in the set; even though this may not of been intended. 

For this reason, we recommend that  all replication settings are turned off: 

Turning these settings off, means that each individual Activity is treated as its own instance and will not accidentally be overwritten with updates that are not intended. 

Staff who manage Activities i.e. create, edit and perform the Activity Sign Off, require an understanding of how these settings work and that the Replication Management Settings should only be activated when they intend to replicate a change through to the remaining Activities in the set. 

For example, if Client NDIS Support Allocations are updated and this should be applied to all future Activities in the set, the Clients Replication Management Setting would be selected, before saving the Activity record: 

Once saved, we recommend turning this off for the reasons mentioned above. 

Return to Summary


Are there any areas which will not be updated when Replication For Set is active?

Yes. Additional rules have been applied when rolling out changes to Activities within a replicated set, to ensure data quality and accuracy.

Amendments to an Activity date and/or time cannot be made to a single Activity, or applied to Activities within a replicated set, when the Activity has either: 

  • One or more Clients with a Support Log recorded (as Support Logs reference the Activity date and time). 
  • One or more completed Staff Timesheets for shifts that are not customised (as non-customised shifts reference the Activity date and time).

Additionally, the date and/or time of any customised Staff shifts cannot be changed when the Activity date and/or time cannot be updated.

Further to this, where the related  Replication For Set setting is active: 

  • Any changes to the NDIS Support Allocations for a Client, will not be applied to any future Activities in the set with existing Client Support Logs. 
  • Changes to Staff details will not be applied where Staff Timesheets has been completed.


Exclude This Activity

When replication settings are enabled and there is an Activity in the set that we need to protect from any replication changes e.g. the staff settings are required to be different from all other activities within this set; we must first isolate the staff settings of that unique Activity. 

When 'Exclude This Activity' is selected, an Activity is isolated from the set. This setting has the following effects:

  1. changes made to that particular Activity are not replicated to future Activities in the set (regardless of the Activity Replication Management Settings)
  2. changes made to Activities that fall before this Activity, will not apply to this Activity. 

To isolate an Activity and exclude it from replication, select the Exclude This Activity setting as shown below:

In this example, any Staffing changes we make to this Activity will only apply to this Activity and not the set. 

For example, our Staff member Abel will be on leave on the 6th of October. We have therefore set the replication settings to Exclude This Activity for the Staff section of the Activity on this date (as above) and replaced him with Brooks for this shift. As Exclude This Activity was set, this has only updated the Staff for this particular activity on the 6th of October and not the full set:

Similarly, if someone was to update the Staff shifts in an Activity the preceded this in the set, these changes would not be applied to this Activity. 

Selecting Exclude This Activity is important when the replication for settings are enabled. If this had not been set and a change was made to an earlier Activity in the set, the staffing changes would be overridden with the original Staff member again. 

Return to Summary

Still need help? Contact Us Contact Us